Sierra Club
View a web version of this email.

Press Room:  For Immediate Release 
Explore, Enjoy and Protect the Planet

FOR PLANNING PURPOSES

May 20, 2011

Contact: Kristina Johnson (San Francisco) (415) 977-5619
Sean Sarah (D.C.) (202) 548-4589


********MEDIA ADVISORY***********
May 23, 2011 at 11:30 Eastern
Telephone Press Conference
1-800-894-5910

Doctors, Environmentalists, Thousands of Americans Call for Protection from Coal Pollution
Baby Stroller Brigades, Rallies, Mercury Hair Testing at EPA Hearings This Week


WHAT: Telephone press conference on EPA Air Toxics hearings
WHO:
• Michael Brune, Sierra Club Executive Director
• Dr. Jerome Paulson, Children’s National Medical Center, Medical Director
• Chondra Brown, Georgia Community Activist, Recent Mother
• Margie Alt, Environment America Executive Director

WHEN: 11:30 a.m. Eastern, 10:30 Central, 9:30 Mountain, 8:30 Pacific
WHERE: 1-800-894-5910 call ID: 7MERCURY


Background: As EPA considers air toxics safeguards to protect Americans from mercury and other coal pollution, thousands of Americans are weighing in, including children’s health experts, community activists, and environmental groups.

EPA is hosting three hearings on air toxics and mercury next week, in Chicago and Philadelphia on May 24 and in Atlanta on May 26. Hundreds of citizens are expected at the hearings, which will include baby stroller brigades, rallies with signs, and mercury hair testing.

Monday’s telephone press conference will provide background on the hearings and perspective on the need for mercury protections.

To find out more about the hearings, and about mercury and coal pollution, visit: www.sierraclub.org/mercury



Find us on Facebook



Sierra Club | 85 Second St., San Francisco, CA 94105 | Change Media Type | Contact Us | Visit the Press Room

Update My Profile | Manage My Email Preferences | Update My Interests | Unsubscribe